top of page
  • Writer's pictureAndy Ravens

New MGM Music Hall at Fenway surprises and delights

BOSTON - I'm hard pressed to come up with one single bad thing to say about the city's newest concert venue MGM Music Hall at Fenway.



If I were a jerk, I could quibble about the traffic and parking. But, this is Boston (next door to Fenway Park between Lansdowne and Ipswich Streets), so just take an Uber to avoid any pre-show logistics stress.


Speaking of stress, my Uber driver for Friday's sold out The 1975 show raised a few eyebrows on the ride in. I'm pretty sure we hit 85+ mph on Storrow sending us back in time to 1955 for a hot minute. No worries, though, I appreciated his sense of urgency. We made it there safe and sound (w/ plenty of time) and with my perfect 5.00 Uber rating in tact. My secret is to overtip and never complain.


The new space, which opened in late August 2022 and perfectly fills a triangular lot outside the ballpark, is operated by Live Nation and owned by Fenway Sports Group. It's one of several new very vertical and very cool midsized clubs/theaters popping up across the country. MGM's capacity (5,000) and acoustics (smaller amps = more intimate sound) have fans and its first few musical acts raving about the experience.

MGM's furthest seat is just 115 feet away from center stage. If this sounds familiar, it should. Last month, I was in Vegas at the Dolby Live at Park MGM and its furthest seats are 145 feet from the stage. Noticing a trend here? After years of attending football stadium rock shows, I can't tell you how very much the intimate distance is appreciated.


While MGM is small, it by no means feels cramped or tiny. The space's outdoor rooftop bar was packed (it's been wicked hot lately in Boston), but a lot of fun. Hot tip: check your tickets for any hidden benefits! I learned a little late in the game that my mezzanine level seats gave me access to a private lounge space.

Once I found that lounge space, it led me directly inside the theater, which really doesn't feature a bad seat in the house and that includes the tightly packed GA floor which I am tempted to check out next. Speaking of which, I am eyeing one of the Dropkick Murphys shows set for March 16-18.


The 1975, which was on just its second gig of a big North American tour, sounded loud and clear in all its melancholy brilliance. The stage was large enough to fit the synth-pop rock band's elaborate set, an inside view of a two-story house.

And kudos to the band's fans who definitely brought the energy. That lifted The 1975's performance in my view. Here's why: They are a very dramatic band led by a very dramatic singer in Matthew "Matty" Healy. This works because the audience can't get enough.


Fans - think The Beatles on The Ed Sullivan Show vibe - screamed/clamored for Healy, as he confidently and nonchalantly smoked butts in between vocals. Please note: This does not mean that you, too, can smoke or vape inside the theater. Special rules for the talent, ok? And, while we are at it, don't bother bringing a bag (unless it's clear or super small) to a show. Leverage a friend's pockets.

Back to the fans. They are a wicked friendly bunch. I struck up a bunch of convos with locals who were just excited for the return of live music and their favorite band. I even met a fellow sneakerhead, a 20-something woman with a nice pair of Air Jordan 1's. She downplayed her kicks, though, explaining she never wears her best ones to shows because of potential damage. That makes sense especially when she explained that she had floor seats. Lots of potential spillage down there.


Finally, if you go to MGM and need a pregame meal, I highly suggest the chicken sandwich at the Lansdowne Pub, which is across the street from the venue. Look, I'm not sayin' their sandwich is as good as Branch Line's eggplant parm, a Dunkin' medium iced latte whole milk w/ extra shot of espresso or a Dumb Chai Tea Latte from Dumb Starbucks, but it's pretty, pretty damn good.


Song of the night: The 1975's new one, released last month, "About You," from Being Funny In A Foreign Language.



























142 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page